AUGIS Conferences

Upcoming details on AUGIS Conferences and Annual Scientific Meetings will be availabe here. 

UGI Congress 2021

Thank you to all our delegates and our faculty members for making the UGI Congress 2021 happen!

The UGI Congress took place from 13 -15 October 2021 in the City of Belfast. 

The winners of the Free Papers Sessions are: 

Zeeshan Afzal: Endoluminal Vacuum Therapy (EVT) for leaks in the upper gastrointestinal (UGI) tract; 10-years’ experience in a specialist Oesphagogastric centre (O-EGS08)

Stella Breininger: Genomic analysis of response to neoadjuvant chemotherapy in oesophageal adenocarcinoma (O-OGC06)

Sian Farrell: A composite polymeric nanoparticle as a sensitiser for sonodynamic therapy (SDT)-based treatment of pancreatic cancer (O-P03)

Piriyah Sinclair: The effect of high fat diet and subsequent intentional weight loss on tumour burden in an animal model of spontaneous endometrial cancer (O-B04)

Caoimhe Walsh: Peri-operative thrombophilia in patients undergoing liver resection for colorectal metastases (O-L04)

Helen Whitmore: The management of pancreatitis and complications that require intervention in a Benign Specialist Surgical Unit (O-BN05)

UGI Congress 2021 Images

Prof Mark Taylor, Dr Manu Nayar, Ian Beckingham, Minister Robin Swann, Mrs Fionnuala Jay O’Boyle DSt CBE, Lord Lieutenant and Prof Giles Toogood

Wen Chung, HPB Specialty Doctor and Honorary Lecturer Leicester, receives an award from PSGBI/AUGIS.

Prof Mark Taylor and Sian Farrell - Winner of the Pancreatic Free Paper Session  Ivan McMinn (NIPANC) and Prof Mark Taylor

Prof Giles Toogood Prof Mark Taylor 

Ian Beckingham  Mrs Fionnuala Jay-O'Boyle CBE, Lord-Lieutenant, Belfast

Panel with Prof Mark Taylor, Prof Giles Toogood, Minister Robin Swann and Dr Manu Nayar

Opening Address


Delegates Arrival Registration desk

BK Activ Boston Scientific 

BOWA Medical    Cook Medical


Implantica  Break time and Medtronic

Welcome to Belfast  Wednesday Drinks Reception

Drinks Reception at the Dark Horse  Outside the Duke of York

Before the Rain!