Travel Fellowships

AUGIS Travel Fellowships have been offered to Trainee Surgeon Members, providing support for trainee surgeons to visit units across the world, enabling the opportunity to learn and acquire new skills and experience which can then benefit their own unit in the UK. 

AUGIS hopes to support Travel Fellowships again in the near future. 

Award Criteria

AUGIS Travel Fellowship Award

The AUGIS Travel Fellowships is for AUGIS Trainee Members/newly appointed consultants. Applications must include: 

  • a detailed plan and purpose of visit
  • details regarding the acquisition of skills and experience not available within own unit
  • a breakdown of proposed costs
  • a letter of support from own unit

One award is offered each year and the successful applicant will be required to provide written report regarding the fellowship, to AUGIS, within six months after the trip. Once the trip is over, the successful applicants may submit receipts along with a completed expense form to AUGIS up to the value of the award. Please note that funds are not provided to the successul applicant in advance of the visit. 

Alternatively email: for an application form

The 2022 Travel Fellowship Award round is now closed. Look out for information about the 2023 Travel Fellowship Award round later in the year. 

Please contact the AUGIS office for further details:

Previous Travel Fellowship Awards

  • 2019 - Chris Johnston from the Royal Infirmary Edinburgh who will be travelling to the Asian Institute of Gastroenterology
  • 2018  - James Clark from Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust for Geneva University Hospitals (HUG).
  • 2017  -  David Chan University Hospital of Wales, Cardiff for the Gastric Cancer Centre, South Korea.
  • 2016  -  Mohan Singh of Royal Shrewsbury Hospital who visited the Department of Surgery at Queen Mary Hospital in Hong Kong.

2016 Award

Awarded to Mohan Singh

Queen Mary Hospital, Hong Kong

Read the Report

2015 Award

Awarded to Samuel Ford

Istituto Nazionale de Tumori, Milan, Italy

Read the Report

2013 Award

Awarded to: 

Jawad Ahmad: Read the Report

Derek McWhirter: Read the Report

Jolene Witherspoon: Read the Report

Vincint Yip: Read the Report


2012 Award

Awarded to: 

Cynthia Borg: Read the Report

Declan Dunne: Read the Report

Naheed Farooq: Read the Report